Skip to main content
Acrenvo

Kletta vs untied for Making Tax Digital

We checked these prices on .

By the selector's own rules, Kletta and untied both work for sole traders and people with rental and self-employment income, so the choice comes down to the four points where they differ. untied offers support for more than one property and support for jointly owned property, which Kletta does not. untied does not offer MTD for VAT returns, which Kletta does. Their cheapest plans are listed as £19 a month, VAT not stated (Solo) for Kletta and £129.99 a year including VAT, about £10.83 a month (Pro including MTD) for untied.

Kletta suits sole traders who want a phone-based MTD workflow, sole traders who also have rental income and want it tracked in the same app and people who want mileage and receipt tracking built into a mobile app. untied suits people with mixed income (property + self-employment or PAYE), sole traders who want a phone-only workflow and non-resident and joint-owner landlords with complex returns.

The facts on this page come from each provider’s own pages and from HMRC’s software list, and how we compare products explains how we check them.

If you are thinking of moving from one to the other, the guide to changing your MTD software explains what GOV.UK says about when you can move and what happens to your records.

Where they differ

These are the points where our checks of the two products came out differently. A “No” means we did not find that feature on the provider’s own pages when we last checked them. Where we had nothing to go on for one of the two, we leave the point out here rather than guess.

Where Kletta and untied differ
PointKlettauntied
Cheapest plan£19 a month, VAT not stated (Solo)£129.99 a year including VAT, about £10.83 a month (Pro including MTD)
More than one propertyNoYes
Jointly owned propertyNoYes
MTD for VAT returnsYes, from the Solo planNo

On the other points we compare (free plan, holiday lets and former FHL, self-employment income, bank feeds, receipt capture, phone apps and accountant access), they give the same answer, or at least one provider does not say. The full list is under each product’s own page.

If you are registered for VAT, the guide to one product for MTD for VAT and Income Tax explains what GOV.UK asks you to check and which of the products we compare say they handle both.

What HMRC’s software list says about both

HMRC’s list marks each feature as available now or intended for later. This is what HMRC’s list says, not something we have tested ourselves. Where HMRC lists a product under more than one name, we show the strongest answer and the listing it comes from.

What HMRC’s software list says about Kletta and untied
FeatureKlettauntied
Your tax return and other income
Sending your tax returnAvailableAvailable
Foreign propertyAvailableAvailable
Construction Industry Scheme (CIS)Availablesince 27 February 2026Available
Employment (PAYE)AvailableAvailable
UK dividendsAvailablesince 27 February 2026Available
UK interestAvailablesince 27 February 2026Available
Capital gainsAvailablesince 27 February 2026Available
How it works
Bridging software that connects to your recordsNot statedAvailable
Calendar update periods (1 April to 31 March)Not statedAvailable
A free versionNot statedNot stated
Welsh languageNot statedNot stated
Accessibility
Blindness or impaired visionNot statedNot stated
Deafness or impaired hearingNot statedNot stated
Motor or physical difficultiesNot statedNot stated
Cognitive impairmentsNot statedNot stated

This is HMRC’s list as it stood on 30 October 2026, at HMRC’s commit 201b34e. A date beside a feature is when HMRC’s list changed it from intended to available. HMRC’s software finder shows the current answers. How we read HMRC’s list

Does HMRC’s software list show Kletta and untied as available for sending your tax return?

For sending your tax return, HMRC’s software list as it stood on 30 October 2026 marks it “Available” for Kletta and marks it “Available” for untied.

Does HMRC’s software list show a free version of Kletta or untied?

For a free version, HMRC’s software list as it stood on 30 October 2026 says nothing either way for Kletta and says nothing either way for untied.

How many features does HMRC’s software list mark as available for Kletta and untied?

HMRC’s software list as it stood on 30 October 2026 covers 15 features, and it marks 7 “Available” for Kletta and 9 “Available” for untied. For Kletta, it marks 0 “Intended” and gives no answer on 8. For untied, it marks 0 “Intended” and gives no answer on 6.

The cheapest plan for your situation

A product’s cheapest plan is not always one you can use, because some plans are only for landlords or only for sole traders. These are the lowest prices the selector would show each reader, as each provider states them. Where a price grows with the number of properties, it is shown as a starting price. The figure over 12 months is the same plan at its regular price, worked out the way the software cost calculator does it.

Kletta

For sole traders
£19 a month, VAT not stated
For people with rental and self-employment income
£29 a month, VAT not stated
Cheapest plan over 12 months for sole traders
£228, VAT not statedRegular price, before any offer
Cheapest plan over 12 months for people with rental and self-employment income
£348, VAT not stated

We checked Kletta’s prices on 25 October 2026.

untied

For sole traders
£129.99 a year including VAT, about £10.83 a month
For people with rental and self-employment income
£129.99 a year including VAT, about £10.83 a month
Cheapest plan over 12 months
£129.99 including VAT

We checked untied’s prices on 25 October 2026.

untied also works for landlords.

Notes from our checks

Kletta

Kletta's main pricing page is for accountants, from about £3 a month for each sole-trader client they manage, which is not what an individual pays. The Solo, Duo and Care plans and their prices are on Kletta's home page and on a separate pricing page for sole traders, which we now link to. The home page has two sets of plan cards, and they disagree on the new-customer discount for Duo and Care and on which plan includes bank connection: one set lists it from Solo and the other only on Care. We show the full prices, which both sets agree on, and show bank connection for Kletta as a whole. Property income and expenses are mentioned for Duo and Care but not for Solo, so we treat Solo as self-employment only. We did not find tracking for several separate properties, a way to split jointly owned property, or anything about furnished holiday lets. Kletta's apps are on the App Store and Google Play. If your accountant's practice uses Kletta for Accountants, the records you keep in the app sync to their dashboard, where they can review them and prepare your submissions, so we show accountant access. We checked this on 25 October 2026.

untied

untied is often listed as free in roundups, but the free version is a 30-day trial and filing requires a paid plan. Plans are priced per tax year with VAT included, which is unusual for this market, so compare like-for-like against ex-VAT monthly prices carefully. untied also sells a cheaper Lite plan, but its pricing page shows Making Tax Digital and property income as not included on Lite, so we do not list it.

Neither product is ranked above the other here: the page sets out what each provider says so you can weigh it against your own situation. How we compare products

More on these two products

Other comparisons with Kletta or untied

Hear about price changes once a month

We’ll email you a link to confirm first. Once you confirm, Acrenvo will send one email a month summarising the MTD software price changes we have checked and any changes to HMRC’s list of software for MTD for Income Tax, with links to the pages on Acrenvo where each change is recorded. Each email may also pick out one dated finding from that month’s record and list the coming MTD for Income Tax deadlines. If nothing changed in a month, we send nothing. In future it may also carry one advert and news of paid guides or templates from Acrenvo, each clearly labelled for what it is. Every email has a stop link, and stopping takes a single click.

This is separate from the deadline reminders, and signing up for one does not sign you up for the other. No account is needed. How we use your email address. Past emails and what each one holds