Skip to main content
Acrenvo

QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) vs untied for Making Tax Digital

We checked these prices between and .

By the selector's own rules, QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) and untied both work for landlords and sole traders, so the choice comes down to the four points where they differ. untied offers support for more than one property and support for jointly owned property, which QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) does not. untied does not offer MTD for VAT returns, which QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) does. Their cheapest plans are listed as £10 plus VAT a month (Sole Trader Plus) for QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) and £129.99 a year including VAT, about £10.83 a month (Pro including MTD) for untied.

QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) suits sole traders or single-property landlords, landlords who want a lower-priced mainstream option and people who do most of their bookkeeping on a phone. untied suits people with mixed income (property + self-employment or PAYE), sole traders who want a phone-only workflow and non-resident and joint-owner landlords with complex returns.

The facts on this page come from each provider’s own pages and from HMRC’s software list, and how we compare products explains how we check them.

If you are thinking of moving from one to the other, the guide to changing your MTD software explains what GOV.UK says about when you can move and what happens to your records.

Where they differ

These are the points where our checks of the two products came out differently. A “No” means we did not find that feature on the provider’s own pages when we last checked them. Where we had nothing to go on for one of the two, we leave the point out here rather than guess.

Where QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) and untied differ
PointQuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start)untied
Cheapest plan£10 plus VAT a month (Sole Trader Plus)£129.99 a year including VAT, about £10.83 a month (Pro including MTD)
More than one propertyNoYes
Jointly owned propertyNoYes
MTD for VAT returnsYes, from the Simple Start planNo

On the other points we compare (free plan, holiday lets and former FHL, self-employment income, bank feeds, receipt capture, phone apps and accountant access), they give the same answer, or at least one provider does not say. The full list is under each product’s own page.

If you are registered for VAT, the guide to one product for MTD for VAT and Income Tax explains what GOV.UK asks you to check and which of the products we compare say they handle both.

What HMRC’s software list says about both

HMRC’s list marks each feature as available now or intended for later. This is what HMRC’s list says, not something we have tested ourselves. Where HMRC lists a product under more than one name, we show the strongest answer and the listing it comes from.

What HMRC’s software list says about QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) and untied
FeatureQuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start)untied
Your tax return and other income
Sending your tax returnAvailableAvailable
Foreign propertyNot statedAvailable
Construction Industry Scheme (CIS)AvailableAvailable
Employment (PAYE)AvailableAvailable
UK dividendsAvailableAvailable
UK interestAvailableAvailable
Capital gainsAvailablesince 24 July 2026Available
How it works
Bridging software that connects to your recordsNot statedAvailable
Calendar update periods (1 April to 31 March)AvailableAvailable
A free versionNot statedNot stated
Welsh languageNot statedNot stated
Accessibility
Blindness or impaired visionNot statedNot stated
Deafness or impaired hearingNot statedNot stated
Motor or physical difficultiesNot statedNot stated
Cognitive impairmentsNot statedNot stated

This is HMRC’s list as it stood on 30 October 2026, at HMRC’s commit 201b34e. A date beside a feature is when HMRC’s list changed it from intended to available. HMRC’s software finder shows the current answers. How we read HMRC’s list

Does HMRC’s software list show QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) and untied as available for sending your tax return?

For sending your tax return, HMRC’s software list as it stood on 30 October 2026 marks it “Available” for QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) and marks it “Available” for untied.

Does HMRC’s software list show a free version of QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) or untied?

For a free version, HMRC’s software list as it stood on 30 October 2026 says nothing either way for QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) and says nothing either way for untied.

How many features does HMRC’s software list mark as available for QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) and untied?

HMRC’s software list as it stood on 30 October 2026 covers 15 features, and it marks 7 “Available” for QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) and 9 “Available” for untied. For QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start), it marks 0 “Intended” and gives no answer on 8. For untied, it marks 0 “Intended” and gives no answer on 6.

The cheapest plan for your situation

A product’s cheapest plan is not always one you can use, because some plans are only for landlords or only for sole traders. These are the lowest prices the selector would show each reader, as each provider states them. Where a price grows with the number of properties, it is shown as a starting price. The figure over 12 months is the same plan at its regular price, worked out the way the software cost calculator does it.

QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start)

For landlords
£10 plus VAT a month
For sole traders
£10 plus VAT a month
Cheapest plan over 12 months
£120 plus VAT

We checked QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start)’s prices on 3 November 2026.

untied

For landlords
£129.99 a year including VAT, about £10.83 a month
For sole traders
£129.99 a year including VAT, about £10.83 a month
Cheapest plan over 12 months
£129.99 including VAT

We checked untied’s prices on 25 October 2026.

untied also works for people with rental and self-employment income.

Notes from our checks

QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start)

Regular monthly prices are shown excluding VAT. When we checked the pricing page on 3 November 2026, the price list it loads showed Intuit's offer of 90% off for six months for new customers, running until 20 November 2026, so the pricing page is the place to see any offer running now. Its setup guidance requires a separate account for each business or property income source. Combined subscription costs were not confirmed, so the selector does not recommend QuickBooks for mixed income. Joint-property support also remains unconfirmed.

untied

untied is often listed as free in roundups, but the free version is a 30-day trial and filing requires a paid plan. Plans are priced per tax year with VAT included, which is unusual for this market, so compare like-for-like against ex-VAT monthly prices carefully. untied also sells a cheaper Lite plan, but its pricing page shows Making Tax Digital and property income as not included on Lite, so we do not list it.

Neither product is ranked above the other here: the page sets out what each provider says so you can weigh it against your own situation. How we compare products

More on these two products

Other comparisons with QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) or untied

Hear about price changes once a month

We’ll email you a link to confirm first. Once you confirm, Acrenvo will send one email a month summarising the MTD software price changes we have checked and any changes to HMRC’s list of software for MTD for Income Tax, with links to the pages on Acrenvo where each change is recorded. Each email may also pick out one dated finding from that month’s record and list the coming MTD for Income Tax deadlines. If nothing changed in a month, we send nothing. In future it may also carry one advert and news of paid guides or templates from Acrenvo, each clearly labelled for what it is. Every email has a stop link, and stopping takes a single click.

This is separate from the deadline reminders, and signing up for one does not sign you up for the other. No account is needed. How we use your email address. Past emails and what each one holds