Skip to main content
Acrenvo

Hammock vs QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) for Making Tax Digital

We checked these prices between and .

By the selector's own rules, Hammock and QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) both work for landlords, so the choice comes down to the five points where they differ. QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) offers support for self-employment income, which Hammock does not. QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) does not offer support for more than one property, support for jointly owned property or handling for holiday lets, which Hammock does. Their cheapest plans are listed as £8 plus VAT a month (Basic (1-3 properties)) for Hammock and £10 plus VAT a month (Sole Trader Plus) for QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start).

Hammock suits landlords with 1-10 properties who handle sole-trade income separately, landlords who want detailed per-property profitability reporting and joint owners and holiday-let landlords staying property-only. QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) suits sole traders or single-property landlords, landlords who want a lower-priced mainstream option and people who do most of their bookkeeping on a phone.

The facts on this page come from each provider’s own pages and from HMRC’s software list, and how we compare products explains how we check them.

If you are thinking of moving from one to the other, the guide to changing your MTD software explains what GOV.UK says about when you can move and what happens to your records.

Where they differ

These are the points where our checks of the two products came out differently. A “No” means we did not find that feature on the provider’s own pages when we last checked them. Where we had nothing to go on for one of the two, we leave the point out here rather than guess.

Where Hammock and QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) differ
PointHammockQuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start)
Cheapest plan£8 plus VAT a month (Basic (1-3 properties))£10 plus VAT a month (Sole Trader Plus)
More than one propertyYesNo
Jointly owned propertyYesNo
Holiday lets and former FHLYesNo
Self-employment incomeNoYes

On the other points we compare (free plan, bank feeds, receipt capture, phone apps, accountant access and MTD for VAT returns), they give the same answer, or at least one provider does not say. The full list is under each product’s own page.

What HMRC’s software list says about both

HMRC’s list marks each feature as available now or intended for later. This is what HMRC’s list says, not something we have tested ourselves. Where HMRC lists a product under more than one name, we show the strongest answer and the listing it comes from.

What HMRC’s software list says about Hammock and QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start)
FeatureHammockQuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start)
Your tax return and other income
Sending your tax returnAvailableAvailable
Foreign propertyAvailableNot stated
Construction Industry Scheme (CIS)IntendedAvailable
Employment (PAYE)IntendedAvailable
UK dividendsIntendedAvailable
UK interestIntendedAvailable
Capital gainsIntendedAvailablesince 24 July 2026
How it works
Bridging software that connects to your recordsAvailableNot stated
Calendar update periods (1 April to 31 March)AvailableAvailable
A free versionNot statedNot stated
Welsh languageNot statedNot stated
Accessibility
Blindness or impaired visionNot statedNot stated
Deafness or impaired hearingNot statedNot stated
Motor or physical difficultiesNot statedNot stated
Cognitive impairmentsNot statedNot stated

This is HMRC’s list as it stood on 30 October 2026, at HMRC’s commit 201b34e. A date beside a feature is when HMRC’s list changed it from intended to available. HMRC’s software finder shows the current answers. How we read HMRC’s list

Does HMRC’s software list show Hammock and QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) as available for sending your tax return?

For sending your tax return, HMRC’s software list as it stood on 30 October 2026 marks it “Available” for Hammock and marks it “Available” for QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start).

Does HMRC’s software list show a free version of Hammock or QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start)?

For a free version, HMRC’s software list as it stood on 30 October 2026 says nothing either way for Hammock and says nothing either way for QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start).

How many features does HMRC’s software list mark as available for Hammock and QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start)?

HMRC’s software list as it stood on 30 October 2026 covers 15 features, and it marks 4 “Available” for Hammock and 7 “Available” for QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start). For Hammock, it marks 5 “Intended” and gives no answer on 6. For QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start), it marks 0 “Intended” and gives no answer on 8.

The cheapest plan for your situation

A product’s cheapest plan is not always one you can use, because some plans are only for landlords or only for sole traders. These are the lowest prices the selector would show each reader, as each provider states them. Where a price grows with the number of properties, it is shown as a starting price. The figure over 12 months is the same plan at its regular price, worked out the way the software cost calculator does it.

Hammock

For landlords
£8 plus VAT a month
Cheapest plan over 12 months
£96 plus VATThe monthly price times 12; the provider also bills by the year

We checked Hammock’s prices on 25 October 2026.

QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start)

For landlords
£10 plus VAT a month
Cheapest plan over 12 months
£120 plus VAT

We checked QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start)’s prices on 3 November 2026.

QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start) also works for sole traders.

Notes from our checks

Hammock

Pricing is tiered by property count, not tenancy count: 1-3 properties £8/mo + VAT, 4-10 properties £15/mo + VAT, 11-20 properties £25/mo + VAT, and 21+ properties £31.50/mo + VAT. Hammock calls the 21+ plan Beyond and asks how many properties you have before it confirms that price. Hammock also advertises a 30-day free trial and 20% discount on annual billing. Its help centre has a guide to adding mileage claims, which then feed into your tax statement, so we show mileage tracking. We checked this on 25 October 2026.

QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start)

Regular monthly prices are shown excluding VAT. When we checked the pricing page on 3 November 2026, the price list it loads showed Intuit's offer of 90% off for six months for new customers, running until 20 November 2026, so the pricing page is the place to see any offer running now. Its setup guidance requires a separate account for each business or property income source. Combined subscription costs were not confirmed, so the selector does not recommend QuickBooks for mixed income. Joint-property support also remains unconfirmed.

Neither product is ranked above the other here: the page sets out what each provider says so you can weigh it against your own situation. How we compare products

More on these two products

Other comparisons with Hammock or QuickBooks (Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start)

Hear about price changes once a month

We’ll email you a link to confirm first. Once you confirm, Acrenvo will send one email a month summarising the MTD software price changes we have checked and any changes to HMRC’s list of software for MTD for Income Tax, with links to the pages on Acrenvo where each change is recorded. Each email may also pick out one dated finding from that month’s record and list the coming MTD for Income Tax deadlines. If nothing changed in a month, we send nothing. In future it may also carry one advert and news of paid guides or templates from Acrenvo, each clearly labelled for what it is. Every email has a stop link, and stopping takes a single click.

This is separate from the deadline reminders, and signing up for one does not sign you up for the other. No account is needed. How we use your email address. Past emails and what each one holds