Skip to main content
Acrenvo

Pandle vs VitalTax for Making Tax Digital

We checked these prices on .

By the selector's own rules, Pandle and VitalTax both work for landlords and sole traders, including people with both kinds of income, so the choice comes down to the six points where they differ. VitalTax offers support for jointly owned property, which Pandle does not. VitalTax does not offer a free plan, bank feeds, receipt capture or phone apps, which Pandle does. Their cheapest plans are listed as free for Pandle and £30 plus VAT a year, about £2.50 a month (Individual (1 NI number)) for VitalTax.

Pandle suits sole traders and landlords who want free MTD submissions without a usage cap, small portfolios that can start with manual bank imports and users willing to pay a modest amount for live feeds and per-property projects. VitalTax suits confident spreadsheet users who do not want to move record-keeping into new software and people looking for a very low-cost compliant route.

The facts on this page come from each provider’s own pages and from HMRC’s software list, and how we compare products explains how we check them.

If you are thinking of moving from one to the other, the guide to changing your MTD software explains what GOV.UK says about when you can move and what happens to your records.

Where they differ

These are the points where our checks of the two products came out differently. A “No” means we did not find that feature on the provider’s own pages when we last checked them. Where we had nothing to go on for one of the two, we leave the point out here rather than guess.

Where Pandle and VitalTax differ
PointPandleVitalTax
Cheapest planFree£30 plus VAT a year, about £2.50 a month (Individual (1 NI number))
Free planYesNo
Jointly owned propertyNoYes
Bank feedsYesNo
Receipt captureYesNo
Phone appsYes (iOS and Android)No

On the other points we compare (more than one property, holiday lets and former FHL, self-employment income, accountant access and MTD for VAT returns), they give the same answer, or at least one provider does not say. The full list is under each product’s own page.

What HMRC’s software list says about both

HMRC’s list marks each feature as available now or intended for later. This is what HMRC’s list says, not something we have tested ourselves. Where HMRC lists a product under more than one name, we show the strongest answer and the listing it comes from.

What HMRC’s software list says about Pandle and VitalTax
FeaturePandleVitalTax
Your tax return and other income
Sending your tax returnAvailableAvailable
Foreign propertyNot statedAvailable
Construction Industry Scheme (CIS)IntendedAvailablesince 10 April 2026
Employment (PAYE)Availablesince 9 October 2026Intended
UK dividendsAvailablesince 9 October 2026Availablesince 10 April 2026
UK interestAvailablesince 9 October 2026Availablesince 10 April 2026
Capital gainsAvailablesince 9 October 2026Intended
How it works
Bridging software that connects to your recordsAvailableAvailable
Calendar update periods (1 April to 31 March)AvailableAvailable
A free versionAvailableNot stated
Welsh languageNot statedNot stated
Accessibility
Blindness or impaired visionAvailableNot stated
Deafness or impaired hearingAvailableNot stated
Motor or physical difficultiesAvailableNot stated
Cognitive impairmentsAvailableNot stated

This is HMRC’s list as it stood on 30 October 2026, at HMRC’s commit 201b34e. A date beside a feature is when HMRC’s list changed it from intended to available. HMRC’s software finder shows the current answers. How we read HMRC’s list

Does HMRC’s software list show Pandle and VitalTax as available for sending your tax return?

For sending your tax return, HMRC’s software list as it stood on 30 October 2026 marks it “Available” for Pandle and marks it “Available” for VitalTax.

Does HMRC’s software list show a free version of Pandle or VitalTax?

For a free version, HMRC’s software list as it stood on 30 October 2026 marks it “Available” for Pandle and says nothing either way for VitalTax.

How many features does HMRC’s software list mark as available for Pandle and VitalTax?

HMRC’s software list as it stood on 30 October 2026 covers 15 features, and it marks 12 “Available” for Pandle and 7 “Available” for VitalTax. For Pandle, it marks 1 “Intended” and gives no answer on 2. For VitalTax, it marks 2 “Intended” and gives no answer on 6.

The cheapest plan for your situation

A product’s cheapest plan is not always one you can use, because some plans are only for landlords or only for sole traders. These are the lowest prices the selector would show each reader, as each provider states them. Where a price grows with the number of properties, it is shown as a starting price. The figure over 12 months is the same plan at its regular price, worked out the way the software cost calculator does it.

Pandle

For landlords
Free
For sole traders
Free
For people with rental and self-employment income
Free
Cheapest plan over 12 months
Free

We checked Pandle’s prices on 25 October 2026.

VitalTax

For landlords
£30 plus VAT a year, about £2.50 a month
For sole traders
£30 plus VAT a year, about £2.50 a month
For people with rental and self-employment income
£30 plus VAT a year, about £2.50 a month
Cheapest plan over 12 months
£30 plus VAT

We checked VitalTax’s prices on 25 October 2026.

Notes from our checks

Pandle

Pandle's free plan includes MTD Income Tax submissions and no usage limits. Live bank feeds, projects for separating properties, receipt uploads and mileage tracking are Pro features at £5 + VAT per month. Confirm joint-ownership, foreign-property and final-return coverage for your exact setup.

VitalTax

VitalTax is bridging software, so you keep your own records in a spreadsheet and it handles the HMRC submission. One £30/year licence covers every income source for one person, including jointly owned property and multiple businesses. It runs as an Excel add-in, so there is no standalone bookkeeping app. Its published information does not confirm holiday-let or legacy FHL handling, so Acrenvo does not recommend it for that requirement.

Neither product is ranked above the other here: the page sets out what each provider says so you can weigh it against your own situation. How we compare products

More on these two products

Other side-by-side comparisons

Hear about price changes once a month

We’ll email you a link to confirm first. Once you confirm, Acrenvo will send one email a month summarising the MTD software price changes we have checked and any changes to HMRC’s list of software for MTD for Income Tax, with links to the pages on Acrenvo where each change is recorded. Each email may also pick out one dated finding from that month’s record and list the coming MTD for Income Tax deadlines. If nothing changed in a month, we send nothing. In future it may also carry one advert and news of paid guides or templates from Acrenvo, each clearly labelled for what it is. Every email has a stop link, and stopping takes a single click.

This is separate from the deadline reminders, and signing up for one does not sign you up for the other. No account is needed. How we use your email address. Past emails and what each one holds