Skip to main content
Acrenvo

HMRC-recognised for MTD ITSA

Coconut

A bookkeeping and tax-filing app for sole traders and landlords, with a cheaper bridging-only tier and a pricier HMRC-recognised plan that files both the quarterly updates and the MTD year-end return.

Web / iOS / Android

Its current entry first appeared in HMRC's software list data on 25 July 2025. See the HMRC list timeline for what that date means.

The situations where Coconut is most likely to make sense

Sole traders and landlords who want one app for bookkeeping and MTD filing, confident record-keepers who only need bridging plus an optional year-end add-on, and people who want a mobile app alongside their MTD workflow.

What the published plan prices look like

Coconut published plan prices
PlanPriceNotes
MTD Bridging (quarterly updates only)£4.17/mo£49.99 a year; VAT treatment is not stated on the pricing page; no monthly billing option was confirmed for this tier; the MTD Annual Submission (year-end return) is a separate £49.99 add-on, not a plan of its own
MTD filing£12.99/moVAT treatment is not stated; £129.99 a year equivalent (about £10.83 a month) when billed annually; described as HMRC recognised; includes quarterly MTD updates and the MTD Annual Submission (year-end return); marked as Coconut's most popular plan
Full (bookkeeping, MTD filing and Self Assessment)£13.33/mo£159.99 a year; no monthly billing option was confirmed for this tier; VAT treatment is not stated; adds full bookkeeping and Self Assessment filing on top of MTD quarterly updates and the year-end return

A note before you decide

HMRC's software list carries a separate free listing for Coconut (productId 3153, 'Coconut Free'), but the pricing page checked on 26 September 2026 shows no plan priced at £0; every plan found there is a paid annual or monthly subscription, so no free tier is claimed here. The MTD Bridging plan covers quarterly updates only; its year-end MTD Annual Submission is a separate £49.99 add-on, not a plan of its own. The MTD filing plan is described as HMRC recognised and includes both the quarterly updates and the year-end return. A separate Bookkeeping-only plan (£99.99 a year) is not HMRC-recognised for MTD and is not listed here because it does not cover the MTD workflow on its own. Coconut also advertises up to 24 months of free access for customers who open a Revolut or Zempler bank account through it; the full advertised subscription price is recorded instead of that promotional route. Mileage tracking, multi-property tracking, joint ownership and furnished holiday let handling were not found on the pages checked and are not claimed. Mobile app availability (iOS and Android) is confirmed for the paid tiers above.

The practical features that matter for MTD use

Bank feed importYes
Multiple propertiesNo
Self-employment incomeYes
Joint ownershipNo
Holiday-let / legacy FHL handlingUnverified
Mileage trackingNo
Receipt captureYes
Accountant accessNo
Free tierNo

The figures on this page were last checked against Coconut’s own site on 26 September 2026. Prices exclude VAT unless stated, and they can change, so confirm the current details with the provider before subscribing. Read how Acrenvo compares products.